Ryan Hemsworth Shares Digital Box Set ‘Hemsworth Country’ Via BitTorrent


Following suit from Thom Yorke, Canadian producer Ryan Hemsworth has shared a digital box set of his entire discography called Hemsworth Country as a BitTorrent Bundle. The compilation includes 2011’s Distorted with rapper Shady Blaze and 2013’s Still Awake EP, available as a free download here. That’s the album art above.

The release comes a week before Hemsworth’s Alone for the First Time, out November 4. Watch the video for the Dawn Golden-featuring “Snow in Newark” below:

Thom Yorke Releases Surprise Album ‘Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes’ via BitTorrent


Thom Yorke has released a new album, Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes. The album is only available as a BitTorrent Bundle here. Yorke and producer Nigel Godrich explained why the album is only being distributed by BitTorrent in the following letter:

As an experiment we are using a new version of BitTorrent to distribute a new Thom Yorke record.

The new Torrent files have a pay gate to access a bundle of files..

The files can be anything, but in this case is an ‘album’.

It’s an experiment to see if the mechanics of the system are something that the general public can get its head around …

If it works well it could be an effective way of handing some control of internet commerce back to people who are creating the work.

Enabling those people who make either music, video or any other kind of digital content to sell it themselves.

Bypassing the self elected gate-keepers.

If it works anyone can do this exactly as we have done.

The torrent mechanism does not require any server uploading or hosting costs or ‘cloud’ malarkey.

It’s a self-contained embeddable shop front…

The network not only carries the traffic, it also hosts the file. The file is in the network.

Oh yes and it’s called

Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes.

Thom Yorke & Nigel Godrich

Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes:

01 A Brain in a Bottle
02 Guess Again!
03 Interference
04 The Mother Lode
05 Truth Ray
06 There Is No Ice (For My Drink)
07 Pink Section
08 Nose Grows Some

Rumours have also speculated that a new Radiohead album is in the works.